Entrepreneurial Warning Update
In my previous post on this topic, I discussed a curious email that I had received regarding investment in our company. About two weeks ago I received a second set of emails from this person. I have not responded to the emails because I still believe this was a scam but I promised an update. Here’s a couple of screenshots of the emails I received:
Every sentence is not capitalized. He can’t even spell the disease he has in his mouth, let alone the fact that I do not believe Gingivitis is a common cause for not being able to speak. Everyone has some degree of the disease. (There’s a joke in there somewhere about the UK and teeth but I won’t go there….) You would figure that this guy Lesley would at least be able to spell the name of his investment adviser. If I am wrong about this company, I don’t want to do business with them anyway. Here’s the email from Mr. Edward Gretton:
This was the email used to forward me an attachment. I scanned the attachment three times and then decided to open it on my phone figuring that the virus that could be in it wouldn’t work on my phone and I’d get to see the contents. The file checked out clean and is loaded with information about how they do business. This email looks official but there’s no real communication between Edward and Lesley. The attachment was included in Lesley’s email so why send me the email from Edward in the first place if for no other reason than to get me his contact information. Curious, I Googled for Pioneer Investments UK Limited.
Here’s where the place is located: Google Maps shows it is based out of a home.
There’s a reference to them on the site UKData.com so maybe they are a legitimate business.
At this point, I think it’s SPAM; it smells like SPAM and it certainly feels like SPAM. Is it? If anyone out there has more information about these guys, I’d love to hear about it so that I can come to a final conclusion. In the end, the message is to be careful about with whom you choose to do business. If these guys are not scam artists then I advise them to update the email communication methods immediately and I’ll publicly apologize for using them as an example for the greater good. If they are scam artists, then entrepreneurs, you’ve been warned.
» Trackbacks & Pingbacks
5 Comments
-
I'd respond to this post, but I have periodonkey disease and my wife had toe surgery several decades ago, so neither of us can speak on the phone. Wait, I mean type. On the phone. Wait, plz ignore, am not scammer.
I think you were too kind to them. If Pioneer does exist as a real funding organization, they have nothing to do with this loser.
-
I am also getting emails from this Edward Gretton they found my funding post on at the go big network. I agree every enquiry I get from the UK in nothing but scam artist. I haven't seen where the exposures is, where does the scam hit. When they commit to fund get your company info?
Obvious I wouldn't pay for anything.
-
If you're brave enough to follow through more than I did, please let us know what happens. I'd love to know for sure if the emails are a scam. I believe they are but there's enough circumstance out there to think that they are not. Spam until proven otherwise I say.
-
I received an email as well from an edward gretton from pioneer .......also as a result of my gobignetwork membership. Are you guys saying this guy is a scam artist? I hope not. Let me know if anyone else know more about this fellow.
-
There is a legitimate Pioneer Investments UK, LLC and they are quite large. This is basically who this Edward Gretton is saying he works for. I called the Boston office for the company and they ran a full system search, including both of their offices in London and there is no one by the name of Edward Gretton that works for the company. I had been contacted by a Michael Owens and he told me to contact Edward Gretton as well. Before I did any of that, I decided to see if he was for real. The only other Edward Gretton in London is an attorney. Obviously they are up to something, just not quite sure what.
4.01.2010 at 3:28 PM